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Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to
Book Marketing
Slides online at
bit.ly/mozbookmarketing
Why Does Search
Matter to Authors?
More recent data is hard
to come by, but it’s
probable that 50%+ of
book sales happen
online, and many offline
purchases are
influenced by online
exposure.
Via DBW/Bowker
Via a Survey I Conducted On Twitter
Via SimilarWeb
Via SimilarWeb
In ecommerce, search is
the traffic referral leader
The
Startup Marketing Model
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
Identify Right Customers
Right Customer
Via Sarah C. Andersen
Who are they?
What social networks do they use?
Where do they go
on the web?
Via Followerwonk
Who are their influencers?
Not Into Tools?
Can’t Find YourAudience
on Social?
Have Conversations!
So… What kinda sites
do you dogs visit?
Target the Right Audience
in the Right Places
YourAudience
isAlready
Spending Time at
These Places:
Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites
You Can Leverage that
Attention by Contributing to…
Massive Networks Like Facebook
Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand
Althoughwe’ve seenorganicreachdippingfor
years,there’sbeena resurgencethanksto
audienceoptimization
Influencer Networks Like Twitter
Via Analytics.Twitter.com
Visual Networks Like Instagram
Via Iconosquare
Professional Networks Like LinkedIn
We’ve seen a recent rise
in engagement and CTR
on LinkedIn for the right
kinds of content
AnImportantNoteonSocialNetworks--
Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical
to Reach
Because this post didn’t do well,
Facebook won’t show my next few
posts to as many users 
Video Sites Like YouTube
Via Moz’s YouTube Channel
Online Communities Like Reddit
Via Reddit.com/r/books
Q+ASites Like Quora
Via Quora’s Mystery Novels Topic
Niche Communities Like Inbound.org
Via Inbound.org
Comment Sections LikeAVC
Via AVC
Book-Centric Sites Like GoodReads
Via Norwegian by Night
on Goodreads
Publishers thatAccept Guest Contributions Like
Good Housekeeping
Via Good Housekeeping
Targeting Your Audience
with Paid Advertising
Ad Click-Through-RatesAreAbominable
Via SearchEngineLand
Half ofAll MobileAd Clicks areAccidental
Via SearchEngineLand
But,Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated
Via Sovrn
And even though we don’t think they influence us,
they do
Via Harvard Business Review
The Key toAd Buying is ROI
$0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 TotalAd Spend=
200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate
$50 ÷ 5 Sales = $10 Cost ofAcquiring a
Customer (CAC)
You want this figure to be less
than you make per sale
FacebookAds
GoogleAdWords
Google ShoppingAds
Retargeting (Google,AdRoll)
More on Whiteboard Friday
e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this
slide deck, and now their ads follow me around
the web like a lost puppy dog
TwitterAds
Via NYTimes
InstagramAds
Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso
PinterestAds
Google DisplayAds
Custom/SmallAd Publishers
Via Hark! A Vagrant
Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)
If You Have Email Addresses,
You Can Also Use:
Facebook Custom
Audiences
Via Facebook
GoogleAdWords’Customer Match
Via SearchEngineLand
Newsletters & BookAnnouncements
Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)
Good, Free Mailing List Options:
Mailchimp:
Freeto2,000
subscribersor12,000
emails/month,great
deliverability
NewsletterforWP:
Requiresabitofinstallation,
butfreetounlimited
numbersofsubscribers
BenchmarkEmail:
Freeto2,000subscribers
or14,000emails/month,
easyUI
Attract an Audience
to Your Platform
Is your publishing platform holding
you back?
Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.
SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers
Great user experience on every device
Compelling reasons to subscribe, share, & return
Freedom from features that would annoy or dissuade
visitors
Content that’s consistently interesting, useful, and/or
engaging to a distinct audience
Does My Publishing Platform Provide:
Platforms to Consider Include:
Wordpress:
Free,extensible,
powerful,haslotsof
plugins&developers
Wix:
Easytemplates,good
support,strongdesigns,
inexpensive
Squarespace:
Solidtemplates,easyto
manage,inexpensive,
Good Comparison of
Options:
Via ArtBizBlog
I’m a Big Fan of Jane
Friedman’sAdvice onAuthor
Websites:
Via JaneFriedman
How do you build a platform that
consistently attracts your
audience?
Publish web
content
Amplify
Grow network
Increase ability to rank in
search engines
Increase brand
recognition
Learn & iterate on
amplification tactics
Earn ongoing
search traffic
Content Can Mean Many Things
Photos
Via Maptia
Animations
Via BusinessInsider
Data
Via Our World in Data
Tools
Via NomadList
Comics
Via LawComic.net
Communities
Via Inbound.org
For Most
Writers,
It Means
Written
Content
Blog Posts
Via WorldsBestDetective.com
Guides
Via Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
Opinion Pieces
Via The New Yorker
Whitepapers
Via PricewaterhouseCoopers
Stories Via Radio Times
Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion
Via Neil Gaiman
But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel)
that can’t be your entire platform
Via Rachael King
I loved Rachael’s site, but
there’s no flywheel happening,
just promotion of her books and
events.
Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets
Distributed on the Web
Via Buzzsumo
It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook
Via Rand’s Facebook Page
What Ranks in Google
What Makes for Conversations on Twitter
Via Medium
What’s Shared Over Email
Via A Smart Bear
What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and
Instagram
But, Content Only Matters If It’s Seen
Via
Buzzsumo
It’s Often the Same
Effort to Make
Content No One
Sees,
As Content
Thousands Do
Who will help amplify this
and why?
Start With a GreatAnswer to the Question:
This is not a right answer:
Museum goers
will love this.
And maybe museum
curators, too.
Via MattKelm
This is a right answer:
I did an analysis of all
the recent major
museum thefts
Carolyn & Shelley have
already expressed interest in
seeing the finished piece
SEO Best Practices
Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging
Accessibility is Critical
Via the YouMoz Blog
Wordpress is a Great Shortcut
Via Wordpress
Google Search
Console Can
Highlight Many
Problems
Via Google Search
Console
Moz, ScreamingFrog, or OnPage.org CanAlso Be
Useful for Crawl Issues
Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and OnPage.org
Keywords
Still Matter
And Google is SmartAbout Matching Concepts &
Topics to Keywords
Titles and Headlines?
Still Important.
Page titles come from the
HTMLcode, and (usually)
appear as the headline of
the piece.
The Search Snippet? Still Important.
Does the title match what
searchers want?
Does the URLseem
compelling?
Does your site sound
trustworthy or sketchy?
Is your result fresh? Do
searchers want a newer
result?
Does the description
create curiosity & entice
a click?
Do you get the brand
dropdown?
Meta Keywords? Useless.
Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog
Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You.
No one wants to click on a
page like that
(and Google penalizes
these types of pages)
Links Still Matter
Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors
Link-based ranking
factors
Ask: Who Will
Link to Me & Why?
All these websites (and ~450 others) link
to StopYoureKillingMe.com
Stumped?
Check Out 100s of
Techniques on the
Moz Blog
Via Link Building on Moz
User Satisfaction Matters
If Google observes many searchers
clicking this result, visiting the page, then
bouncing back to the search results and,
instead…
Clicking this page, and seeming satisfied
with those results…
It’s very likely that, over time, KirkusReviews
will outrank WaPo here.
Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking
Via Bill Slawski on Moz
Make the Back Button Your Enemy
NPR’s clean design, well-respected
brand, options for listening or reading,
solid visuals, and quality writing compel
me to want to stay.
If only they’d used good keywords in their
title, they’d probably be on page 1
DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites
Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots of lost
search traffic by having two separate sites.
Via Rachael-King.com and SoundofButterflies.Blogspot.com
Consider Which Page You Want
Ranking for Your Book
IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your
own site ranking at the top, rather than
Amazon, because then you control the user
experience (and can use anAmazon affiliate
link to get greater revenue from your sales)
You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher
Choose to Link in Press & Bios
MoreAbout SEO:
Prefer text + visuals?
See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
Prefer video?
See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters class
Use Data to Learn What Works
vs. Doesn’t
GoogleAnalytics
Looking at “site content” (under
“behavior”) can show you which
pages are attracting and engaging
visitors, and which ones aren’t.
Jetpack
Apopular alternative to
GoogleAnalytics, many
site owners appreciate the
simpler, more intuitive
reports despite fewer bells
& whistles.
Via Jetpack Stats
Bit.ly
I track all my
content that I
share to get a
sense of what
works, and where
it performs best
ANeat Hack You Can Do with Bit.ly
Just add a + to the end of any bitly URL:
http://responsivecitypress+
Buzzsumo
Buzzsumo is
invaluable for seeing
content on any topic
or from any site that’s
performed well on
social networks
Via Buzzsumo Pro
Converting
Visitors to Buyers
We need to identify the traits that separate
customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books
from those who won’t.
My Favorite
Process:
From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study
Boom.
And Shakalaka.
Haven’t heard of the
book
Heard of it, but didn’t
buy
Bought, read, &
loved the book
What do you think the
book is about?
How’d you hear about the
book?
What first made you
interested?
What would make you
more likely to check it out?
What are your biggest
objections to purchase?
What objections did you
have to buying?
What would have made
you change your mind?
What objections did you
have and how did you
overcome them?
What did you love most
about it?
Can we share your story as
a testimonial?
Create Messages and Sales Pages that
Overcome Your TargetAudience’s
Objections
Benefits that speak to
Nir’s audience
Authorities that Nir’s audience
knows, likes, and trusts
Multiple ways to get the book, even
for non-readers
Via Nir Eyal
Use These Messages on YourAmazon and
Publisher Pages, Too!
Via Hooked on Amazon
The same messages and editorial
reviews work here, too
Retain, Delight, & Grow
Amplification
How do you know what to create?
Or where to invest?
What do you hate doing?
Via Tech Noir
What do
you love to
do?
Via Dsgnblog
What skill, talent, or creation can set you
apart from the crowd?
Via Rand’s Blog
One of my strengths is
an ability to be
contrarian, and to
create homemade
graphics that convey
those opinions 
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
Improving the flywheel is an
iterative learning process
No one starts out great at this.
This is Geraldine’s Blog:
Everywhereist.com
Geraldine started the website in 2009
For 2 years, she rarely
broke 100 visits/day
She had a few successes
But traffic fell back down after
these viral spikes
In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list.
Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.
These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month
(even when she took time off to write her book).
Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s
content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great
opportunity to publish and market her work.
Failure + Learning
x Time = Success
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Bit.ly/mozbookmarketing

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Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing