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Google Analytics and Google Adwords
for the Online Marketer
Elias Dabbas	

May 7, 2014
Google Analytics
2
3
Main Online Measures / Metrics
Visits
CPA
CPC
CPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
UniqueVisitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
PageViews
PageViews
	

 	

 Number of times a page was served / “viewed”
heat map, showing
the eye fixations on
the page
4
5
Number of times an ad was served “viewed”	

Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)
Ad Impressions
6
Visits (sessions) & UniqueVisitors (users)
•Visits (sessions): 	



!
•UniqueVisitors (users):
Number of times a “session” is started at a site or a user comes	

to the site
Number of people (computers) that visited your site
I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor
Example:
7
Pages /Visit
!
!
!
!
	

 Average page views per visit	

	

 Total page views ÷ total visits
8
Bounce Rate
•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)	

•1-page visits ÷Total visits = Bounce Rate
9
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link
etc. compared to total views (impressions)	

•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
10
Visits perVisitor (Sessions per User)
• Average times a visitor (computer browser) comes
to the site within a certain period of time	

!
• Total visits ÷ UniqueVisitors =Visits perVisitor	

!
• Important measure of loyalty
11
CPx
• CPC: cost per click	

!
• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions	

!
• CPL: cost per lead	

!
• CPA: cost per action (acquisition)	

!
• CPF: cost per fan (or follower)
Conversions
• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. 

Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc	

!
• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate
Conversions
12
13
Visits
CPA
CPC
CPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
Unique Visitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
Page Views
“Not everything that can
be counted counts, and
not everything that
counts can be counted”	

!
	

 	

 	

 	

 	

	

 	

 Albert Einstein
Types of Websites (Actions)	

!
!
!
!
What do I want 	

my users to DO?
Media / Content	

!
Articles, videos, photos, news, etc...	

Usually free content, ad supported	

Example goals: maximize time spent on site, increase number of
visitors
Products, services, subscriptions, etc... 	

Selling products is the main revenue source 	

Example goals: maximize sales, avg. order value
eCommerce /Transactional
Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture,
consulting, real estate)	

Qualified leads who contact you become customers	

Example goals: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead
Lead Generation
Users create content and share it, you provide the platform	

Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your
business model	

Example goals: maximize content generated, viral marketing
User-Generated Content / Social
OtherTypes	

!
!
!
Directories 	

Search engines 	

Support websites	

Classified Ads
21
Campaign Lifecycle
22
• Total Spend: $10,000
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
23
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR	

• Conversion Rate	

• CPM 	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
24
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate	

• CPM	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
25
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate	

• CPM	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
26
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
27
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
28
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
29
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
30
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
31
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5	

• CPA
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
32
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5	

• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
33
• Total Spend: $10,000	

• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%	

• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%	

• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 	

• CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5	

• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 	

impressions
20,000 	

clicks
400	

conversions
34
Brand
35
“Brand is purely and simply the
sum-total of all customer
experiences	

	

 served-up by the organization. 	

	

 	

The brand is the experience.”
36
Who you want to be	

Vs. 	

What people conceive you to
be
37
“Discover”Your Brand
38
MyCoolTrips.com
mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews	

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews
39
Content Traffic
50% 50%
France Spain
10%
90%
France Spain
40
mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews	

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews 	

mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews	

mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews	

mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews
41
Content Traffic
13%
87%
France Spain
80%
20%
France Spain
42
463M pages of content	

1 page of search
43
Google Analytics - Summary
Measures / Metrics
!
Pageviews	

Visits (sessions)	

Unique visitors (users)	

Ad impressions	

Click-through ratio	

Conversion rate	

Bounce rate	

CPX
Types of Websites
!
Media / Content	

Lead Generation	

eCommerce	

User Content / Social
Campaign Lifecycle
Brand Assessment
44
45
Search Ads (SEM)
Search Ads
46
Keywords:	

	

used cars	

buy used cars	

used cars for sale 	

used car dealers
Keywords:	

	

iphone 5s	

i phone 5 s	

iphone 5s best price	

buy iphone 5s
• You only pay when someone clicks on your ad	

• You determine the maximum cost per click you are
willing to pay	

• Ranking of ads depends on maximum CPC and
quality score
Payment / Pricing
47
• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising
on their site	

!
• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and
Google automates the process of bidding,
placement, pricing, payments, etc…
Google Display Network (GDN)
48
49
Google Display Network (GDN)
50
51
Types of Ads
!
• Text	

• Image	

• Video	

• Mobile (web)	

• Mobile (call)
52
Text Ads
• Headline: 25 characters	

• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters	

• Display URL: 35 characters	

• Destination URL: 1,024 characters	

–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the
domain has to be the same
53
Image Ads
320 × 50 Mobile banner	

320 × 100 Large mobile 	

468 × 60 Banner	

728 × 90	

 Leaderboard	

250 × 250	

 Square	

200 × 200	

 Small square	

336 × 280	

 Large rectangle	

300 × 250	

 Inline rectangle	

120 × 600	

 Skyscraper	

54
!
160 × 600	

 Wide skyscraper	

300 × 600	

 Half-page ad	

970 × 90	

 Large leaderboard	

240 × 400	

 Vertical rectangle	

980 × 120	

 Panorama	

930 × 180	

 Top banner	

250 × 360	

 Triple widescreen	

580 × 400	

 Netboard	

970 × 250	

 Billboard
Formats	

.GIF, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF	

Max. size	

 150KB
Display Ad Builder
• Customize your own ad online
55
56
57
• Automatic resizing for all available sizes
58
Video Ads (Click to Play)
59
60
Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
Account Structure
• Campaigns	

• Ad groups	

• Ads 	

• Keywords 	

• Destination URLs	

• Bids
61
62
AdWords Account Structure
Website1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from
great restaurants.
Order now
Website.com/
orders
Unbeatable
Prices from
great
restaurants.
Order now
Website.com/
orders
Order food
Food online
Order pizza
Bids
Destination
URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
Account
63
Account
•One Google account	

•Accessible / manageable by several accounts	

•Different access levels	

•Admin	

•Standard	

•Read Only 	

•Email Only
64
Campaign (Settings)
• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups
function	

–Language	

–Network(s)	

–Geography	

–Daily budget	

–Device settings	

–Scheduling
65
LanguageTargeting
66
Make sure you only target people
who will be able to read your
content, watch out for languages
that use similar scripts	

!
!
Keywords may have different
meanings (e.g. British vs.American
English)	

!
!
Ad text can produce different
responses
67
Geographical Targeting
Time of the Day / Day of the Week
68
Campaign Best Practices
• Use a consistent naming convention	

–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful
parameters as possible	

E.g. AR-GCC-Used Cars Search	

EN-GCC-Used Cars Search	

EN-GCC-Used Cars Display	

• Separate search and content (display)
69
Ad Groups
• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of
keywords
Keywords:	

	

used cars	

buy used cars	

used cars for sale 	

used car dealers
70
Ad Group Best Practices
• Keywords as closely related to each other as
possible	

• Always test more than one ad	

• Make sure you have a good relevant landing page
for each ad group
71
Keyword MatchTypes
Exact: [coffee beans]
Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
characters is searched for	

!
Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’
Exact string with other keywords before or after 	

Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee
beans
72
Keyword MatchTypes
!
Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
Similar keywords using the same stem	

Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries 	

!
Broad match: coffee beans
Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms	

Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop
73
74
!
Negative: -cappuccino
Helps make sure you are eliminating content you
don’t have
Writing Effective Ads
Ads relevant to 	

specific keywords	

Features	

Benefits 	

Calls to action	

Using keywords in ads	

Test different landing pages
Ads Relevant to Keywords
Each ad group should be focused on a topic	

!
Ads should communicate messages specifically
according to keywords
Benefits
Main point of interest	

They are what your product achieves for the user	

They are what users care about	

!
Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing
10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a
good future for your kids (good ROI on
investment plan), etc…
Features
How your product helps me achieve the benefits	

Specific evidence about your product	

Points of differentiation	

!
Examples: 65” screen, 12MP camera,ABS breaks, real
leather shoes, etc…
Calls to Action
Leads user to a specific thing to do	

Generates enthusiasm in the moment	

Filters users	

!
Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for
our newsletter, share with your friends, join the
community, etc…
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
Targeting	

Keywords 	

Geography	

Language 	

Keyword match type	

Time of day / Day of
week 	

Search / search partners	

Display	

Devices	

Demographics
Effective Ads
Ads relevant to 	

specific keywords	

Features	

Benefits 	

Calls to action	

Using keywords in ads	

Test different landing
pages
Measurement
Click through rate	

Cost per click	

Cost per conversion	

Impressions	

Clicks	

Conversions	

!
81
ThankYou	

!
!
!
Elias Dabbas	

elias@media-supermarket.com	

!
slideshare.net/eliasdabbas

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Google Analytics and Google Adwords Guide for Online Marketers

  • 1. Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer Elias Dabbas May 7, 2014
  • 3. 3 Main Online Measures / Metrics Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions UniqueVisitors Conversions Bounce Rate PageViews
  • 4. PageViews Number of times a page was served / “viewed” heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page 4
  • 5. 5 Number of times an ad was served “viewed” Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page) Ad Impressions
  • 6. 6 Visits (sessions) & UniqueVisitors (users) •Visits (sessions): 
 ! •UniqueVisitors (users): Number of times a “session” is started at a site or a user comes to the site Number of people (computers) that visited your site I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor Example:
  • 7. 7 Pages /Visit ! ! ! ! Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits
  • 8. 8 Bounce Rate •Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) •1-page visits ÷Total visits = Bounce Rate
  • 9. 9 Click-Through Ratio (CTR) •Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions) •Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
  • 10. 10 Visits perVisitor (Sessions per User) • Average times a visitor (computer browser) comes to the site within a certain period of time ! • Total visits ÷ UniqueVisitors =Visits perVisitor ! • Important measure of loyalty
  • 11. 11 CPx • CPC: cost per click ! • CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions ! • CPL: cost per lead ! • CPA: cost per action (acquisition) ! • CPF: cost per fan (or follower)
  • 12. Conversions • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. 
 Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc ! • Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate Conversions 12
  • 13. 13 Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions Unique Visitors Conversions Bounce Rate Page Views
  • 14. “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted” ! Albert Einstein
  • 15. Types of Websites (Actions) ! ! ! ! What do I want my users to DO?
  • 16. Media / Content ! Articles, videos, photos, news, etc... Usually free content, ad supported Example goals: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
  • 17. Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Example goals: maximize sales, avg. order value eCommerce /Transactional
  • 18. Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Example goals: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead Lead Generation
  • 19. Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Example goals: maximize content generated, viral marketing User-Generated Content / Social
  • 20. OtherTypes ! ! ! Directories Search engines Support websites Classified Ads
  • 22. 22 • Total Spend: $10,000 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 23. 23 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 24. 24 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 25. 25 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 26. 26 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 27. 27 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 28. 28 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 29. 29 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 30. 30 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 31. 31 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 32. 32 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 33. 33 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  • 35. 35 “Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiences served-up by the organization. The brand is the experience.”
  • 36. 36 Who you want to be Vs. What people conceive you to be
  • 39. 39 Content Traffic 50% 50% France Spain 10% 90% France Spain
  • 40. 40 mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews
  • 42. 42 463M pages of content 1 page of search
  • 43. 43 Google Analytics - Summary Measures / Metrics ! Pageviews Visits (sessions) Unique visitors (users) Ad impressions Click-through ratio Conversion rate Bounce rate CPX Types of Websites ! Media / Content Lead Generation eCommerce User Content / Social Campaign Lifecycle Brand Assessment
  • 44. 44
  • 46. Search Ads 46 Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers Keywords: iphone 5s i phone 5 s iphone 5s best price buy iphone 5s
  • 47. • You only pay when someone clicks on your ad • You determine the maximum cost per click you are willing to pay • Ranking of ads depends on maximum CPC and quality score Payment / Pricing 47
  • 48. • Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site ! • Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc… Google Display Network (GDN) 48
  • 50. 50
  • 51. 51
  • 52. Types of Ads ! • Text • Image • Video • Mobile (web) • Mobile (call) 52
  • 53. Text Ads • Headline: 25 characters • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters • Display URL: 35 characters • Destination URL: 1,024 characters –Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 53
  • 54. Image Ads 320 × 50 Mobile banner 320 × 100 Large mobile 468 × 60 Banner 728 × 90 Leaderboard 250 × 250 Square 200 × 200 Small square 336 × 280 Large rectangle 300 × 250 Inline rectangle 120 × 600 Skyscraper 54 ! 160 × 600 Wide skyscraper 300 × 600 Half-page ad 970 × 90 Large leaderboard 240 × 400 Vertical rectangle 980 × 120 Panorama 930 × 180 Top banner 250 × 360 Triple widescreen 580 × 400 Netboard 970 × 250 Billboard Formats .GIF, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF Max. size 150KB
  • 55. Display Ad Builder • Customize your own ad online 55
  • 56. 56
  • 57. 57 • Automatic resizing for all available sizes
  • 59. 59
  • 60. 60 Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
  • 61. Account Structure • Campaigns • Ad groups • Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs • Bids 61
  • 62. 62 AdWords Account Structure Website1.com Restaurants Order Online Great Deals from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/ orders Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/ orders Order food Food online Order pizza Bids Destination URLs Information Concerts Rock Concerts Account Campaigns Ad Groups Ads & Keywords
  • 64. Account •One Google account •Accessible / manageable by several accounts •Different access levels •Admin •Standard •Read Only •Email Only 64
  • 65. Campaign (Settings) • Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function –Language –Network(s) –Geography –Daily budget –Device settings –Scheduling 65
  • 66. LanguageTargeting 66 Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts ! ! Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs.American English) ! ! Ad text can produce different responses
  • 68. Time of the Day / Day of the Week 68
  • 69. Campaign Best Practices • Use a consistent naming convention –Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible E.g. AR-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Display • Separate search and content (display) 69
  • 70. Ad Groups • Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers 70
  • 71. Ad Group Best Practices • Keywords as closely related to each other as possible • Always test more than one ad • Make sure you have a good relevant landing page for each ad group 71
  • 72. Keyword MatchTypes Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for ! Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans 72
  • 73. Keyword MatchTypes ! Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries ! Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop 73
  • 74. 74 ! Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have
  • 75. Writing Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages
  • 76. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic ! Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
  • 77. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about ! Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…
  • 78. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation ! Examples: 65” screen, 12MP camera,ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…
  • 79. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users ! Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…
  • 80. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of week Search / search partners Display Devices Demographics Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages Measurement Click through rate Cost per click Cost per conversion Impressions Clicks Conversions !