There are several ways to monetize mobile apps and games. Depending on the platform advertising is either number one or two. However, just slapping ads onto your app is a sure way to degrade user experience without reaping the benefits of this powerful monetization instrument. This session will cover the basics you should know about advertising with focus on mobile apps and games. Learn to understand the industry jargon, its hidden secrets and tips & tricks to make ads work for you.
3. Empowering developers to
help each other grow.
• free advertising for your apps
• utilize 100% of your ad space
• 10,000+ apps, more than 1 billion ad
impressions a month
www.adduplex.com
The largest cross-promotion
network for Windows Phone
and Windows Store apps
17. Full screen ads
Interstitial image ads
Video ads
Playable ads
• Good user engagement
• Don’t take up real estate during
gameplay
• Can’t show too often (needs a
natural pause)
• Can be “heavy”
18. Offer walls
• Can be user initiated
• Show multiple ads
• choice for the user
• diluted for advertisers
19. Native ads
• Look like content
• Can be non-intrusive (e.g. replace field
ads in sports game)
• Hardly accessible to indie developers
22. Basic terms
• Impression
ad displayed to user once
• Click
user tapped on the ad
• CTR – click-through rate
percentage of impressions resulting in clicks
on the ad
• IR – install rate
percentage of clicks resulting in app
installation
23. Ad pricing
models
• CPM
Cost per mille (thousand impressions)
• CPC
Cost per click
• CPI
Cost per install
• CPA, CPL, etc.
Cost per action, lead, etc.
25. CTR – click-through rate
Percentage of ad impressions resulting in clicks
perfecting ad copy and campaign targeting
Improve by
26. IR – install rate
Percentage of clicks resulting in app installation
(for app/game advertisers)
perfecting store listing, ad copy relevance
(sometimes at the expense of CTR)
Improve by
27. CPI – cost per install
For app/game advertisers
increasing both CTR and IR
Improve by
28. ROI – return on investment
Based on “deeper” internal metrics
acquiring better users cheaper (trial & error, previous experience)
Improve by
34. Fill rate –
percentage of ad
requests resulting in
ad impression
Requests
made
Ads
received
• Almost never 100% for a single ad provider
• Can vary dramatically based on the region and
other factors
• Smaato: “Worldwide, the average ad network fill
rate was 10% in Q3 2011”
35. Mitigating low fill rate
Ad Provider 1
Ad Provider 2
Ad Provider N
Cross promotion or “house ad”
36. Last step – something with
100% fill rate
• House ads – ads for your other apps or services,
“public service” ads
• Cross-promotion ad for a partner publisher
• Cross-promotion network
38. Some providers may calculate
eCPM disregarding the fill rate
Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM
1,000 10 $0.1 $1
Requests Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM
2,000 1,000 10 $0.1 $0.5
VS
39. Real life example
Microsoft pubCenter
Google AdMob
Actual fill rate adjusted eCPM = $421.96/2,423.53 = $0.17
(data available, but not reported explicitly)
Actual fill rate adjusted eCPM = $98.65/1,302.563 = $0.08
(explicitly reported as Request RPM)
Source: Imran Shafiq - https://danglingneuron.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/windows-phone-ad-network-review-part-2/
40. It is incorrect to directly compare
eCPM for different ad types
$1
eCPM
$5
eCPM
VS
41. Can you control minimum bid?
Otherwise you may end up
selling your space for pennies
43. Arguments against ad
monetization
• Religion, allergy, etc.
• Rarely/short running apps
• Negative effect on UX (as any other attempts to monetize )
• Extra permission requirements/privacy concerns
• High revenue unpredictability
• Optimizing ad revenue takes time and effort